Designer Profile: Matangi

Breaking into the fashion scene can be daunting and it can be hard to stand out in the sea of talent that is constantly emerging. That isn’t the case for Matangi, an up and coming Perth label that blends boyish cool silhouettes and elegant fabrics to curate and empower an immaculately executed wardrobe.

We chat with Matangi’s Creative Director, to get to know more about her thoughts on the industry and what else we can look forward to from her.

 

Tell me about Matangi?

Matangi is a bold rebellious label, inspired by the duality of the goddess Matangi herself, representing hyper feminine tomboy clothing. Although the two are a seeming anomaly, these ideas depict the goddesses’ two contrasting personalities and challenge our perceptions of evening wear. Boyish cool silhouettes and elegant fabrics are used to curate a sporty chic look and an immaculately executed transformation from street to night.

What is this seasons collection and what is the inspiration behind it?

This season is a mix of evening wear with a few casual pieces, I wanted to be globally inspired, while keeping all the production and the fabrics locally sourced. So my inspiration is American football, something that was very foreign to me, which I wanted to translate into something that is fun and familiar.

What are your top styling tips?

I would have to say don’t be afraid to wear loose clothes, they are so much easier to wear and style because they are much more flexible. Also don’t be afraid to buy mens clothes if you’re a girl, give your outfit as much personality as possible!

What trends should be avoided?

Any trend that makes you feel uncomfortable.

When did you realise you wanted a career in fashion?

I think I realised in year 10, I made a dress in art and I ended up winning all these awards for it and I just remember thinking that it’s something I enjoyed developing and I seemed to be good at too.

What were your initial feelings on studying fashion?  Did your views of the industry change as time went on?

Well . . . I have to say I initially thought that it would be a glamorous subject to study and I was super excited to get into it, like I would go to Tafe looking perfect everyday with my makeup and outfit on point and coffee in hand ready for the day.  But it was really the complete opposite because we had to learn all the technical things, the real stuff before we did the fun part, which was the designing and producing our garments. So it wasn’t that I wasn’t excited, I felt more of an anticipation to get through the first two years to get to the creative fun part where we got to design and produce our own range.  My views of the industry definitely changed as time went on as I realised that its 90% hard work and things that you don’t want to be doing and 10% glamorous, and creative. But then the final outcome of having a completed range and all the positive feedback makes the 90% of hard work definitely  worth it.

What is the biggest thing you’ve learnt since you’ve started Matangi?

 I think the biggest thing I’ve learnt is that you really do have to be self motivated if you want to get anywhere. Sometimes the hardest part of your day is motivating yourself to get up and go, because if you don’t no one else will so you just have to. I’m still perfecting my self motivation skills.

Who or what is your fashion muse or inspiration?

I have to say my muses are Sofia Richie and Rihanna, and I’ve always ever since I can remember been inspired by Alexander McQueen .

What advice would you give aspiring designers?

Take advantage of every opportunity you get.

What is your motto or what motivates you?

The feeling that you get when you have created something magical from nothing or just a simple idea, motivates me and makes it all worth it!

What are your goals for Matangi in the next 12 months? 

 I would love to start to gain more of a following on Instagram, obviously that comes with more content on my behalf as well as to have a few stockists within Perth and start selling online.

And finally what are you currently binge watching/ listening to?

 Don’t laugh,  but I’m currently watching Heroes the 2006 series. lol

 

For more information on the Foxfeet Collective Store contact us at foxfeet@colosoul.com.au or come in and visit us at 241 Hay Street, Subiaco WA 6008.

WRITTEN BY ALEXSIA SARGENT
Leave a Reply

