Designer Profile: Addy Pasquale

Talent comes from all kinds of shapes and sizes, and considering that the industry is full of unwavering talent, it may be hard to find your way in the spotlight. That is not the case for Addy Pasquale, whose eye for designing is definitely her greatest asset.

We chat with her today to get to know more about her inspirations and what else we can look forward to from her.

What is the name of your collection and what is the inspiration for it?

LURE

The inspiration behind Lure comes from fishing lures and tackle and I have also pushed the concept into Lure in social and emotional forms.

When did you realise that you wanted to pursue a career in fashion?

I started studying fashion design because I was working a 9-5 office job that I absolutely hated and made me sad, so I wanted to do something creative and challenging and I’ve always been into fashion so I thought I would give it a go. It was a really hard decision at first to go from a good paying job to a student but I am so thankful I’m not doing something I hate every day!

What were your initial feelings before studying fashion? Did your view about the fashion industry change through time?

I didn’t really know what to expect before I started studying fashion, but I have learnt so much, I think anyone wanting to start a label should definitely study fashion learning the sustainability side and how this next generation of designers needs to overhaul the fast fashion industry had a really big impact on me so that’s something I want to work on going forward in the industry.

Photo Credit: @adellen_

What is the best memory that you would never forget?

Graduating from fashion and design at university, finishing was the best feeling in the world.

What’s the best thing that you’ve learned while studying fashion?

I would say the biggest surprise was studying fashion – no one ever tells you how hard it actually is, people doing other studies think it’s fun and creative but it’s actually really hard and really has a lot of substance. Fashion students and designers are some of the smartest and most creative people I know and I think that says a lot about the world of fashion and where it’s headed.

What are your plans for the future? Are you working on your next collection?

Yes, I am working on a new collection but I can’t really say too much about it 🙂

Photo Credit: @adellen_

Who inspires you the most? Who are the designers you look up to and how do they contribute to your aesthetic?

Roberta Einer and Romance Was Born are my two favourite and most inspirational designers, their collections are always so amazing and unique!

Would you consider doing ready-to-wear or would you rather do couture?

I am starting to work on ready-to-wear, but I like to try and do a bit of both keep things fun and challenging.

What advice would you give other emerging designers on their journey in the Fashion Industry?

Design what makes you happy, what you are interested in and then worry about everyone and everything else later.

 

For more information on the Foxfeet Collective or opportunities to collaborate contact us at foxfeet@colosoul.com.au or come in and visit us at 241 Hay Street, Subiaco WA 6008.

Written by Quinn Agpaoa

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

