Designer Profile: Remi Lane

This month, the Foxfeet Collective Store is opening and to celebrate this, we are interviewing the participating labels and amazing designers behind them to get a look into how they started and their thoughts on today’s trends.

Tell me about Remi Lane.

Remi Lane created a label for the free spirited luxe focusing on earthy colours and textures. Each garment has a story inspired by nature, travel and past areas. Remi Lane creates a lifestyle with her designs, embracing the moment with a carefree attitude. Promoting quality not quantity, each style is produced in small volumes resulting in exclusivity for she who encourages rarity.

What is Remi Lane’s aesthetic?

The Remi Lane aesthetic is laid-back luxe.

What trends are important this season?

I personally don’t like trends, trends relate to fast fashion resulting in a high wastage of clothing. At Remi Lane we focus on classic pieces that will be worn for years and still remain timeless.

Photo Credit: @Amberlyvalentine

What trends should be avoided?

Under-boob, never a classy look no matter how nice the boobies.

What are your top style tips?

Accessorise!!! By adding some nice earrings, a belt and a bag with some statement shoes can make a massive difference to an outfit.

One item/product you can’t live without?

My boots!

How did you go about starting your Remi Lane?

I studied my advanced diploma in Fashion Design at South Metro TAFE and then completed my Associate Degree in Fashion business whilst designing and starting the production of my first collection! I then released my collection at Perth Fashion Festival in 2016 and it’s taken off from there!

Who or what is your fashion muse/inspiration?

Melanie Greensmith from Wheels and Dollbaby inspired me to become a fashion designer. I was in year 5 and mum told me a fashion designer (Melanie) just lived down the road. I had no idea that being a fashion designer was a job! So when I found out that I could merge my love for art and fashion and turn it into a career I was set on being a fashion designer.

What made you interested in fashion and how has that shaped Remi Lane?

I was just always a fashion driven kid. When I was 6 I would change my outfit 3 times a day because I had so many outfit ideas hahaha.

Photo Credit: @remilanedesigns

What is the biggest thing you’ve learnt since starting Remi Lane?

If you really love something, keep at it and persevere. Because it’s the most amazing feeling once you achieve such a big goal, and as cliché as it sounds, just don’t give up on something that can bring you so much joy!

What advice would you give to aspiring fashion designers?

Allow more than enough time to complete a process, most big fashion companies have a lot of employees working for them and that can result in fast turn arounds. As a start out label you will be needing to carry out most tasks so buy a big calendar, plan a detailed list of what needs to be done, and allow double the time of what you think it will usually take.

What is your motto or what motivates you the most?

If you don’t challenge yourself you may never know all the exciting things your capable of.

What goals do you have for your label in the next 12 months?

We aim to grow our knowledge and learn new things everyday by research and learning from experiences as the label expands.

What is your current guilty pleasure?

Having a nap in fresh new sheets!!! Arhh or planning way to far in advance what to wear to a music festival.

 

For more information on the Foxfeet Collective Store contact us at foxfeet@colosoul.com.au or come in and visit us at 241 Hay Street, Subiaco WA 6008.

Written by Alexsia Sargent
Leave a Reply

