Designer Profile: Zolet

This month, the Foxfeet Collective Store is opening and to celebrate this, we are interviewing the participating labels and amazing designers behind them to get a look into how they started and their thoughts on today’s trends.

Tell me about Zolet?

Based in Perth, Zolet is a ready-to-wear label dedicated to creating garments for petite, curvy young women who are entering independence.

What is Zolet’s aesthetic?

Classic, minimal and clean

Photo Credit: @zoletofficial

What trends are important this season/ If I buy one thing today, what should it be?

The floral trend is still going strong this winter and shoulder cut-outs.


How did you go about starting Zolet?

I could never find garments that suited my body shape in stores and so resorted to altering the clothing I had. I’d also considered designing for my body type and eventually that led to me creating Zolet.

One item/product you can’t live without?

My phone, because everything is on it.

Who is your fashion muse/inspiration?

Zoë Kravitz and Cipriana Quann

What made you decide to make a career out of fashion?

Not finding what I needed in the market for my body type and realising there was a niche for garments for petite, curvy women.

Photo Credit: @fizah_photography

What is the biggest thing you’ve learnt since starting your label?

It’s been a huge learning curve for me, particularly, moving from using tools like social media apps (Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest) personally to using them in a business capacity. It’s also been interesting learning how to a run a business, creating business plans, researching trends and using this to create and develop Zolet.

What advice would you give to aspiring fashion designers?

The best advice I would give to aspiring designers would be to make sure you, in addition, to creating your label/brand, also take time to learn how to run a business properly whether by taking online classes, going to your local council’s small business networking events and seminars.

What are your short and long-term goals for Zolet?

I’m doing my second capsule and having more exposure using avenues like the Foxfeet store and doing a few fashion shows like RAW etc.

In five years, I’d like to have taken part in an international fashion show and opened up a brick and mortar store for Zolet.


What are you currently binge watching/listening to?
The Flash

 

For more information on the Foxfeet Collective Store contact us at foxfeet@colosoul.com.au or come in and visit us at 241 Hay Street, Subiaco WA 6008.

Written by Alexsia Sargent
Leave a Reply

